MDC adds 10 new agents

New Conservation Agents - 

Among the Class of 2016 Conservation Agents with the Missouri Department of Conservation is Sarah Ettinger-Dietzel, who has been assigned to Iron County.  In the photo, from left, are Interim MDC Director Tom Draper, MDC Commissioner Marilynn Bradford, Christopher Horn, Clayton Lewis, Caleb Sevy, Parker Rice, Zachary White, Zachary Swindle, Nicholas Bommarito, Derick Childers, Sarah Ettinger-Dietzel, Matt Wheaton, and MDC Commission Chair Dave Murphy.

The Missouri Department of Conservation (MDC) recently added 10 new agents. 

The conservation agent class of 2016 graduated during a special ceremony at the Department’s Runge Conservation Nature Center in Jefferson City on Wednesday, Oct. 5. 

During the graduation, the new agents were pinned with a badge by their families and also took the oath to become conservation agents.


Volunteers receive speleological award

Mick Sutton (left, of rural Annapolis) and Scott House (right) receive Lew Bicking Award, presented by Bill Steele (center).


Two long-time volunteers at Ozark National Scenic Riverways have been recognized with a national award for their efforts in cave research and preservation in Missouri. Scott House and Mick Sutton of the Cave Research Foundation have been awarded the Lew Bicking Award for contributions to cave exploration and mapping.


Branstetter selected for Boys State

Jared Branstetter

Jared Matthew Branstetter participated in The American Legion Boys State of Missouri June 18-25 on the campus of the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg. 

Branstetter was selected based on his leadership, citizenship, academics, and character during his junior year at Arcadia Valley High School.


MAC Practical Nursing students graduate July 22

Mineral Area College graduates of the community college’s 56th class of the Practical Nursing Program participated in ceremonies on July 22. Graduating students included: (front row) Randall Rowe, Anthony Downs, Lynzi Chilton, Lindsey Bivens; (second row) Tina Downard, Jacob Emanuel, Garrett Sellars, Nicole Populis, Alissa Welch; (third row) Linda Wilkins, Amy Crawford, Jessica Hampton, Crystal Crocker, Jennifer Wibbenmeyer, Maddison Ayers, Ashley Lappe. (photo by Scott Hastings)


Mineral Area College graduates of the community college’s 56th class of the Practical Nursing Program participated in ceremonies on July 22 at the Centene Center in Farmington.

Graduating students included:


Blanton joins staff at Texas A&M University

Edwin Blanton, formerly of Ironton, is now on the staff of Texas A&M University-San Antonio.

He has been named the Executive Director for Experiential Learning and Community Engagement.

Blanton is a 1995 graduate of AVHS.  He is the son of Langdon and Marie Blanton.


Local students named to Dean's List at Southeast University

The following students have been named to the spring 2016 Dean’s List at Southeast Missouri State University.
Miriah Allgier of Fredericktown.
Alexis Amelunke of Fredericktown.
Alexandrea Ammons of Fredericktown.
Patrick Bowling of Fredericktown.
Lyndsey Bradshaw of Lesterville.
Ashley Buford of Middlebrook.
Jeff Counts of Bismarck.
Carlee Gibson of Fredericktown.
Stacy Mell of Fredericktown.
Joshua Minx of Fredericktown.
Ashley Patterson of Des Arc.
Morgan Raby of Fredericktown.
Kelli Sargent of Belleview.
Christopher Smith of Fredericktown.
Anna Thomas of Pilot Knob.
Geoffrey Tibbs of Fredericktown.
Students named to the list earned at least a 3.75 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, completed at least 12 hours of standard, graded credit, achieved no grade below a B and received no failing grades in enrolled, credit/no credit or pass/fail courses.


VFW Missouri Teacher of the Year

VFW Missouri Teacher of the Year

Don Barzowski of Ironton was chosen as the Veterans of Foreign Wars District 8 “Teacher of the Year” and then was entered in State competition. He was chosen from all the entries and became Missouri VFW Teacher of the Year. He will receive his award at the Missouri VFW State Convention at Springfield in June. Jesse Wren, (left) who placed First in the VFW Voice of Democracy (VOD) Speech Writing Contest, was then entered in VFW State VOD competition and placed 4th. Eli Jones (not present for photo) of Arcadia Valley was Bismarck VFW’s First Place Patriot Pen winner and when placed in District 8 competition, Eli placed 3rd out of all the entries. The Bismarck VFW Clarence E. Dooley Post 6947 held the local contests.


Elks banquet honors youth

The Arcadia Valley Elks Lodge celebrated its Youth week with a banquet held on Sunday May 1.

The program was emceed by Elk member Joy Clarkson. They were greeted by Exalted Ruler Chad Barton and Pilot Knob Mayor Shelby Chan was the guest speaker for the event.


Arcadia Valley FBLA students win at State Leadership Conference

FBLA State Leadership Conference - AVHS students and faculty who attended the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) State Conference in Springfield included - (from left) Shelly Walker, Jesse Wren, Haylee Walker, Makayla Moise, Tori Hardy, Kinsey Phelps, Kristen Kirnbauer, Savannah Price, Allee Moise, Megan Williams, Rebecca Buffington, Randi Sargent, Maycie Lubbers, Ethan Jones, Julius Ratliff and Julie Hampton.


Fourteen members of the Missouri Future Business Leaders of America, Phi Beta Lambda Chapter from Arcadia Valley, recently traveled to Springfield for the Missouri Future Business Leaders of America – Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference.  

This four-day conference, began Saturday, April 23, and featured dynamic workshops, innovative keynotes, and professional networking opportunities with Fortune 500 companies for middle school through college students.


Ferguson, Fitzgerald to marry

Ryan Tyler Fitzgerald and Kelsey Lynn Ferguson

Rodney Ferguson and Mary (Rose) Ferguson of Wildwood announce the engagement of their daughter, Kelsey Lynn Ferguson, to Ryan Tyler Fitzgerald, son of Neil and Lisa (Cox) Fitzgerald, of Middlebrook.
Grandparents are Joann Ferguson, Robert and Jean Rose, Doug and Nina Fitzgerald, and Randall and Dorothy Cox.
The future bride received a bachelor of science degree in education from Baylor University and a master of science degree in library science from University of North Texas. She is employed as a librarian at St. Louis County Library.
The future groom received associate of science degrees in heavy equipment mechanics and heavy equipment operations from Linn State Technical College. He is employed as a heavy equipment mechanic at Hall Equipment in Pontoon Beach, IL.
A May 2016 wedding is planned at Riverbend Chapel in Washington.


Subscribe to RSS - Community