VFW Missouri Teacher of the Year

VFW Missouri Teacher of the Year

Don Barzowski of Ironton was chosen as the Veterans of Foreign Wars District 8 “Teacher of the Year” and then was entered in State competition. He was chosen from all the entries and became Missouri VFW Teacher of the Year. He will receive his award at the Missouri VFW State Convention at Springfield in June. Jesse Wren, (left) who placed First in the VFW Voice of Democracy (VOD) Speech Writing Contest, was then entered in VFW State VOD competition and placed 4th. Eli Jones (not present for photo) of Arcadia Valley was Bismarck VFW’s First Place Patriot Pen winner and when placed in District 8 competition, Eli placed 3rd out of all the entries. The Bismarck VFW Clarence E. Dooley Post 6947 held the local contests.


Elks banquet honors youth

The Arcadia Valley Elks Lodge celebrated its Youth week with a banquet held on Sunday May 1.

The program was emceed by Elk member Joy Clarkson. They were greeted by Exalted Ruler Chad Barton and Pilot Knob Mayor Shelby Chan was the guest speaker for the event.


Arcadia Valley FBLA students win at State Leadership Conference

FBLA State Leadership Conference - AVHS students and faculty who attended the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) State Conference in Springfield included - (from left) Shelly Walker, Jesse Wren, Haylee Walker, Makayla Moise, Tori Hardy, Kinsey Phelps, Kristen Kirnbauer, Savannah Price, Allee Moise, Megan Williams, Rebecca Buffington, Randi Sargent, Maycie Lubbers, Ethan Jones, Julius Ratliff and Julie Hampton.


Fourteen members of the Missouri Future Business Leaders of America, Phi Beta Lambda Chapter from Arcadia Valley, recently traveled to Springfield for the Missouri Future Business Leaders of America – Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference.  

This four-day conference, began Saturday, April 23, and featured dynamic workshops, innovative keynotes, and professional networking opportunities with Fortune 500 companies for middle school through college students.


Ferguson, Fitzgerald to marry

Ryan Tyler Fitzgerald and Kelsey Lynn Ferguson

Rodney Ferguson and Mary (Rose) Ferguson of Wildwood announce the engagement of their daughter, Kelsey Lynn Ferguson, to Ryan Tyler Fitzgerald, son of Neil and Lisa (Cox) Fitzgerald, of Middlebrook.
Grandparents are Joann Ferguson, Robert and Jean Rose, Doug and Nina Fitzgerald, and Randall and Dorothy Cox.
The future bride received a bachelor of science degree in education from Baylor University and a master of science degree in library science from University of North Texas. She is employed as a librarian at St. Louis County Library.
The future groom received associate of science degrees in heavy equipment mechanics and heavy equipment operations from Linn State Technical College. He is employed as a heavy equipment mechanic at Hall Equipment in Pontoon Beach, IL.
A May 2016 wedding is planned at Riverbend Chapel in Washington.


Wadlow-Freund to wed in October

Kaylee Wadlow and Ethan Freund

Don and Michelle Wadlow, along with Kelly and Sheri Freund, announce the engagement of their children, Kaylee DeLaine Wadlow and Ethan Garrett Freund.
Kaylee is the granddaughter of Roger and Shirley Liggett and Ron and Marilyn Wadlow.
Ethan is the grandson of Betty Cresswell, Gib and Pam Cresswell, and Jean Freund.
An October 2016 wedding is planned at the Arcadia Academy.


Poet/professor to present poetry reading, workshop

Phillip Howerton

Phillip Howerton, an associate professor of English at Missouri State University-West Plains, will be giving a reading from his recently released poetry collection, The History of Tree Roots, at 6 p.m. on Friday, February 5, at the Ozark Regional Library in Fredericktown.
He will follow this reading with a poetry writing workshop and program at the library on Saturday, February 6 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m.  The University of Missouri Extension in Madison County, Historic Madison County, Mineral Area Council on the Arts and Ozark Regional Library are are offering these two programs and the even is free of charge thanks to donations from sponsors. Registration is required for the workshop only by calling 573-783-3303.  Light refreshments will be provided.       


Arcadian Academy of Music holds first student recital

Students and teachers Emily Parker (piano) and Felicia Bergmeier (violin) smile following the successful recital. Front row, from left are Kailyn George, Nadia Parker, Elliott Bergmeier, Samuel Buckner, Lauren Crocker and Stephen Cooper Back row, from left are Emily Parker, Allison Moore, Emma Nelson, Skyler Bishop, Audrey McCulley, Jackson Shinkle, Emmaline Waddell, Elizabeth Felker, Megan Cooper, Dylan George and Felicia Bergmeier.

The Arcadian Academy of Music held its first student recital on Sunday, Dec. 13.  Students from Iron, Reynolds, St. Francois and Washington Counties performed on piano, violin and voice.  
Following the student performances, Emily Parker – the owner and director of the school – dedicated the Recital Hall in honor of her grandmother, Jeanette McKinney.
Jeanette McKinney (1927 – 2011) was a lifelong Iron County resident who dedicated her life to music, teaching and performance.  She taught music at the Irondale, Ironton, Bismarck and Potosi schools and especially enjoyed teaching band.  
Following her retirement from the public schools, McKinney taught piano lessons out of her home in Belleview while caring for her young granddaughter, Emily.  
In later years, she taught Music Appreciation for Mineral Area College.  


Students named to Honor Roll at South Iron Elementary School

The following students were recently named to the 1st Quarter Honor Roll at South Iron R-1 School:

3rd Grade - Mrs. Huff
Shannon Ethridge
Heaven Hamilton
Sawyer Huff
Kaeleigh Johnson
Rose Armstead
Michael Chavosky
James Hedrick
Jack Henson
Matthew Jackson
Dakota Littrell
Caden Silvy

4th Grade - Mrs. Francis
Kaleigh Adams
Tanner Baker
Kirsten Blue
Enzley Dinkins
Benji German
Mar’Lon Hickman-Roberson
Jenna Horn
Hunter Huff
Will Malone
Hayden Masters
Maddisyn Mills
Anna Parker
Wayland Ruble
Serenity Warren
Talan Baker
Jermarquis Burse
Dylan Golden
Emmalee Kelley
Brianna Mauer


Williams, LaValle named Elks Students of the Month for November

Megan Williams and Joey LaValle, both seniors at Arcadia Valley High School,  have been named the Elks ‘Students of the Month.”


Local GFWC members attend Fall Convention

Tami White

Six members of the GFWC Mina Sauk Club of Ironton attended the General Federation of Women’s Clubs of Missouri, Inc. Ninth District Fall Convention on October 24, 2015, at the United Methodist Church in Fredericktown.
Members were President Dorothy Cox, Ninth District President Elect/Membership Chairman Joan Duncan, Parliamentarian and GFWC of Missouri Convention Dollar Table Chair Alice Goehman, Ninth District Parliamentarian and GFWC of Missouri State Vice-President Pat Mertens, Secretary Lorelei Lee, and International Outreach and Special Projects Chairman Tami White.

To view more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition 



Subscribe to RSS - Community